Everyone needs to learn how to read (in Tok Pisin or English) so that they can be able to read the Bible. That is the reason why our education services started. We are committed to educate students along with Christian values so that they can become better citizens of PNG.
Statistical information

Today we have the following number of students, staffs and schools in Papua New Guinea.


Male students Female students Total students Male staff Female staff Total staff Number of schools
13,994 11,722 25,719 448 342 790 161

 (scroll/swipe over to view the rest of the table)

Formal Schools

We have:

  • 2 Secondary Schools
  • 3 High Schools
  • 106 Elementary Schools
  • 48 Primary Schools
  • 2 TVET Colleges

Non-Formal Schools

We run:

  • 1 permitted ACE School
  • 21 Vocational Schools
  • 4 Theological Colleges

We have a total of 187 schools (both formal and non-formal) in Papua New Guinea.

How our education service started

When our Swiss missionaries first came to PNG in 1954, they found it very difficult to communicate with the local people. Therefore, they started a Tok Pisin class purposely for reading Bible and for effective communications to spread the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

Beginning of formal and non-formal education

As the missionaries advanced in their mission fields, they also started English classes to other villages in Jiwaka province. Later they moved on to other parts of the country such as Simbu Province, Eastern Highlands Province, Western Highlands Province, Morobe Province, Madang Province, National Capital District and Central Province.

The purpose of establishing schools was to educate young people to read and write and spread the Gospel of Jesus Christ as well as assisting in the development of the nation. Many of our established education services have had a great impact on many lives. Some of our former students are now holding higher positions in the government sectors,companies and in non-government organisations (NGO).


Church Education Secretaries

We have 4 Regional and 1 National Church Education Secretaries for

  • Jiwaka & Western Highlands Provinces
  • Chimbu Province
  • Easthern Highlands, Madang and Morobe Provinces
  • East Sepik Province
  • and National Education Secratary for the whole agency


EBC Education Agency

We have been recognized by the Churches Education Council (CEC) and the National Education Board (NEB) as the EBC Church Education Agency. After the Education Minister’s final endorsement (which is pending) we will be able to register as an EBC Education Agency.